The trio of Engineer Seyi Makinde of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Senator Teslim Folarin of the All Progressives Congress (APC) and Chief Adebayo Adelabu of Accord Party are currently engaging in last minute struggle to govern Oyo state.

Any of the three could win the gubernatorial election billed to take place on Saturday.

A total of eighteen candidates are contesting. They include Ajekiigbe Lateef of AA, Akinwale Tayo Tawfiq of LP, Popoola Olukayode of the NNPP, Okedara Mojeed of AAC and Ajadi Bamidele of ADC, Yusuf Akim of ADP; Adeshina Adewale of APGA; Adeniran Adeyemi of APM; Yinusa Kazeem of AAP; Okunade Tunde of BP, Adegboyega Raymond of NRM, Micheal Lana of SDP and Euba Aduragbemi of YPP.

The candidates are seeking votes from 2,305,903 registered voters in the election to be held in 6,390 polling units spread across 33 local government areas in the state.

Based on their popularity, acceptability, and campaigns, three of the gubernatorial candidates stand out among the rest. They are Makinde, Folarin, and Adelabu.

This is contrary to what happened in 2019 when the battle was a two-horse race between Adebayo Adelabu who was the candidate of the APC and Seyi Makinde who was the candidate of the PDP

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *